How to Access E-Journals and Databases from Off-Campus: Using databases from off-campus

1. Place the cursor on the "Service" tab at the top of the screen on the library website and click on the "Databases" tab to display a list of databases.

2. For databases that support the remote access service, an orange icon labeled "Off campus" is displayed in the "Access" column.

3. By clicking the “Access” button for the appropriate database, the single sign-on screen will appear, and by logging in with your SSO-KID, you can access the database in the same way as on the campus network.
 

*After 30 minutes, the login status will expire, so you will need to log in again to use other databases.

We will show you how to sign in directly from the page of publishers' e-journals and databases (e.g. Scopus).
The details vary from database to database, but the general flow is the same.

1. Access the e-journal or database site from off-campus, and click "Login", "Sign In", etc. (in most cases, these are located in the upper right corner of the top page).

2. When you are prompted to select a login method, click "GakuNin", "Shibboleth", "Login via institution", "Institutional Login", "IdP", and so on. (Confusingly, "Athens" is wrong.)

3. When the list of universities appears, select "Kyushu University". (If you do not see Kyushu University here, it is a database that has not been set up for GakuNin.)
*For services outside of Japan, there is a screen to select the name of the country (Japan) or federation (GakuNin).

4. Enter your SSO-KID and password on the screen of Kyushu University's single sign-on system.
Once you have successfully signed in, you can use the database.

• Not all subscribed content is made available from off-campus. E-journals and bibliographic databases have detailed terms and conditions of use defined by contract, and only content that is contractually allowed to be accessed from off-campus is covered.

Remote Access Services

• Many databases supported
• Must go through the library website

GakuNin

• No need to go through the library website (although login methods vary slightly between databases)
• Not many databases supported (most major databases are OK)

The Academic Access Management Federation in Japan (GakuNin) is an accreditation system created through the collaboration of universities, publishers, and other organizations nationwide.
E-journals and databases from publishers participating in GakuNin can be accessed from off-campus by logging in.
For more information, click here.

If you have trouble signing in to SSO-KID

• When you cannot log in (Kyushu University SSO Portal)

If you do not know your SSO-KID or have forgotten your password

• Single Sign-On Web Portal ＞ About ID-Room